Boris Johnson won the seat in 2017 with a 10.8% majority, with 23,716 votes giving him a 50.8% share, up 0.6% on the previous election in 2015.

The constituency voted 57.19% to leave in the EU referendum.

The seat has been held by Conservatives since 2010, when it was created following boundary changes, part merging the former Uxbridge and Ruislip-Northwood constituencies.

Dr Liz Evenden-Kenyon (Liberal Democrats)

Liz Evenden-Kenyon halted her academic career to work full-time in politics, before that she worked as a lecturer at Brunel University.

She researches both historical and contemporary uses of hate speech, nationalism masquerading as patriotism, and Islamophobia.

Previously, she has been a don and British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Cambridge (History, Newham) and a Marie Skłodowska Curie Fellow at Harvard University.


Mark Keir (Green Party)

Mark Keir is an environmental activist and active supporter of Extinction Rebellion. He previously stood for election in last year's local elections and in the most recent General Election in 2017.


Boris Johnson (Conservative)

Boris Johnson served as the mayor of London for eight years and foreign secretary under Theresa May. He succeeded her as prime minister in July 2019.

He won a scholarship at Eton College, and later studied classics at Balliol College, Oxford. He started his career in journalism as a reporter for The Times in 1987 and became a political columnist for The Spectator in 1994 and in 1999 became editor, continuing that role until 2005.

He once said: "My chances of being PM are about as good as the chances of finding Elvis on Mars, or my being reincarnated as an olive."


Ali Milani (Labour)

Ali is one of the youngest prospective parliamentary candidates in the country, at 25. He studied International Politics at Brunel University.

He migrated to the UK from Iran when he was five and grew up on a council estate in London. He considers himself ‘a wave of young progressive thinkers around the world’.


Written by Amelia Oprean and Rahima Miah

Information correct November 7

All candidates wishing to stand in the election must have submitted their nomination papers by 4pm on November 14. The final confirmed candidate list will be published on November 16.

The deadline for registering to vote is midnight November 26. Find out more here.